Advisory Committee

The Independent Advisory Committee is made up of individuals from our community. They are responsible on an ongoing basis for:

  • Selecting charities to receive grants from the General Fund
  • Determining the amounts to be distributed to the selected charities
  • Monitoring the actions of the Trustee

Advisory Committee Members:

Mary C. Gavin (Chair)
Board Member since: 2009

Mary Gavin is Certified Public Accountant and a principal of Gavin and LaVigne, Inc., a firm offering capital financing to hospitals and nursing homes. She has held fundraising, leadership and board positions with the Girl Scouts, Saratoga Hospital and Saratoga Central Catholic School.

Ms. Gavin lives in Saratoga Springs with her husband and their three children.

Colleen Carlson
Board Member since: 2016

Colleen Carlson is a lifelong resident of Saratoga Springs and is the Director at Saratoga Casino Hotel.

Ms. Carlson’s volunteer leadership includes fundraising and board positions on the Saratoga Hospital Foundation, Saratoga Springs Recreation Commission, Jake’s Help from Heaven, The Flower and Fruit Mission of Saratoga Hospital, and Skidmore College. Ms. Carlson and her husband Skip have three children and two dogs.

Jean Dugan
Board Member since: 2015

Jean Dugan is an Information Technology and Project Management Professional who retired after a thirty year career in the financial services industry. Jean has lived and volunteered in Saratoga Springs since 2006.

Mary Hallquist
Board Member since: 2015

Mary Hallquist is a Licensed Mental Health Counselor and is currently employed by Four Winds Hospital. She was born and raised in Saratoga Springs, NY and returned in 2013 after living in Vermont for 8 years. She currently lives in Saratoga Springs, NY with her husband and two small children.

S. Scott Perkins

Board Member since: 2009

Scott Perkins is a lifelong resident of Saratoga County and is an attorney with a private law practice in Saratoga Springs.  He has served as a director or trustee of the Saratoga County YMCA, AAA New York State, AAA Northway, Brookside Museum, The Allegiance Bowl Committee, Saratoga Convention and Tourism Bureau, and the Racing City Chorus.

Caroline Putman

Board Member since 2014

Caroline has lived in the Saratoga region for most of her life. She has volunteered for organizations such as SPAC, Yaddo, and BH-BL High School.

While living in Irvine, California she volunteered as Treasurer and Communications Secretary on the Board of the National Charity League – Rancho Irvine Chapter, as Board Communications Chair for Operation Valentine, as Registrar for FC Irvine soccer club, and as a volunteer on multiple school projects.


Advisory Committee members are appointed for a three-year term.